Baby Shower Coming Out Party

20121017-092131.jpg

I had a very proud moment this weekend as a big sister! My kid sister (she’s an adult and hates to be called that, but nonetheless she IS my kid sister) hosted her very first party. She threw a baby shower for one of her best friends. I wish I took more pictures but here are just a few for your enjoyment. The best part is that she is a broke college student right now and pulled this beautiful event off on a shoestring budget. As a supportive sister I helped her set up for the event and helped with just a few extra details. I free-handed the canvas in the bottom right. I was really impressed with myself as this was a first and worked on the first try. We used this canvas as a guest book and had each guest use their thumbs in paint to make a heart and each signed their own mini-artwork. My other assigned project was to make punch. This was fun too! I searched for awhile on the web until I found a recipe that I liked here. I was not a fan of the picture they used to show off the dish, but the recipe sounded delicious. Here’s what I did:

8 cups pink lemonade (I used water and a store-brand crystal lite mix I had already)
4 cups lemon-lime soda (I used store-brand diet)
1 quart raspberry sherbet (I bought 2 like their recipe called for but never used it)
1 lemon, sliced thin for garnish

I mixed the pink lemonade first, then added soda then sherbet and added the lemons to float in the bowl. Done and ready to serve.

I was in a time-crunch and didn’t have access to a freezer for a long period of time but if I did, I would have made ice cubes out of the sherbet and soda to keep this cooler longer.

Overall, total success for sister and I’m so proud!

One thought on “Baby Shower Coming Out Party

Leave a Reply

