Peanut Butter Cup Brownies

20121002-220725.jpg

We just got home from our small group Bible study kick-off night! It was great. I’m so excited to finally begin building community here. We’ve now been in Northern Virginia for 9 months so it’s about time!!! Since I was so excited, and since we don’t yet have a home to offer to host, I offered to make treats. Pinterest helped me find some awesome ideas. I found Risa at Baked Perfection‘s recipe for Peanut Butter Cup Brownies and I had pinned a few different recipes but I chose Heather from Fake-It-Frugal‘s Fake Betty Crocker Brownie Mix recipe pretty much because she’s local to the DC area like me (and Risa from Baked Perfection). I sort of merged the two recipes and my treats were a hit! Here’s the combined recipe I used:

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup flour

1/3 cup cocoa

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

2 eggs

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup Reese’s peanut butter chips

1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and grease one mini muffin cup tray. Wish together sugar, flour, cocoa, salt and baking powder. Add eggs, oil, and vanilla. Taste the batter because it’s so delicious. Spoon heaping teaspoons of batter into the greased mini muffin tray. Bake for 13-15 minutes. DO NOT REMOVE BROWNIES from muffin tray. While brownies are still warm, use the back of your teaspoon to dent the tops of each brownie to make a hole for the peanut butter. Place peanut butter in a small microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 45 seconds then stir. Spoon about half a teaspoon of peanut butter into the center of each brownie. Top with semi-sweet chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. Cool completely in pan.

By combining the two recipes (and because I probably tasted way too much batter) my new recipe yielded 24 brownies. Considerably less than Risa’s recipe but that’s why I cut down the number of chips and peanut butter you will need.

Thank you Heather at Fake-it Frugal and Risa  at Baked Perfection for your inspiration for this post. Check out their blogs! Heather has some great tips and tricks to get your creativity flowing and Risa’s always making something that will make your mouth water.

Leave a Reply

